Screening Recommendation: I Am

I realize that is post comes with rather short notice, but I wanted to put it out there nonetheless. Sonali Gulati will be screening her award-winning film I Am in Richmond tonight (Friday, 16 December 2011) at 1708 Gallery.  Doors open at 6:00 p.m., and the film starts promptly at 7:00 p.m.  Gulati will also be gracious enough to answer questions following the screening.

I have not yet seen the film, so I am in the unenviable position of writing about something of which I have little knowledge.  However, all the reviews and critical acclaim surrounding Gulati’s work have made me anxious to finally see it.  And I now have my chance.  Furthermore, as a current Richmonder, Gulati allows me to dine as a cinematic locavore. Support finely crafted cinema created by local artists.  See I Am.  For more info contact the 1708 Gallery.

.

About Todd Hunter Starkweather

Todd Starkweather is an Assistant Professor of English at South University-Richmond. He has a PhD in English Literature from the University of Illinois-Chicago; his interests include film, Victorian studies, sport, and post-colonialism.
This entry was posted in Documentary, Events, Filmmaking, Local and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Screening Recommendation: I Am

  1. anubhavbist says:

    Sonali Gulati’s documentary is wonderful. A personal statement from a great Richmond filmmaker and one that’s been years in the making.

Leave a Reply

